Merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas to all!  May your day be filled with family, friends, and fun.

Christmas Eve and Christmas day here are pretty relaxed.  Along with church and presents, my family celebrates with lots of Euchure and Christmas cookies!

This season’s cookie winners:

  • In third place… Hershey Kiss cookies!
  • In second place… caramel and chocolate covered pretzel rods!
  • In first place…Awesome Cookies!  The cookie of all cookies that tops my list at every occasion.  Also known as “freezer cookies,” “peanut butter-oatmeal-chocolate chip-m&m cookies,” and the “This is healthy, right? There’s oatmeal in it” cookie.

Runner Ups include: caramel corn, coconut and chocolate chip cookie bars, and the chocolate-covered peanut clusters that one of my mom’s students made for her (and I shoveled down).

Workout Talk:
I felt pretty stuffy and achy Christmas Eve morning, so I made myself some pity hot chocolate and insisted I would only exercise if I started feeling a little better.  Surprisingly, my meds kicked in and at noon, I did a 50-minute bodyweight circuit.  In my basement.  (I’m still in shock that I found motivation to do this.)
Five rounds: 60 walking lunges (30 per leg), 25 push ups, 50 squats, 20 tri dips, 25 bicycle kicks, 30 donkey kicks (15 per leg).
My lunges and squats have been a bit neglected in the past few weeks, so I’m glad that I brought them back!

After a morning filled with presents, coffee, breakfast casserole, and euchre, my dad and I went out for a run.
This is how we felt about running:
DSCN0320

Our mantra: “We will only run as fast as the slowest runner.”

The weather was chilly and dreary and the first half of the run was a rough, but we got into the groove and kicked up our pace at the end.  It ended up being a great run!

The a workout under way, the rest of the day will be devoted to more cookies, bits and pieces of A Christmas Story, and family time!

One thought on “Merry Christmas!

  1. Pingback: Last day of 2013 | the mile report

Leave a Reply

