Winter Workout Recap

Until today, my workouts had moved from outside to inside (the YMCA).  Icy streets, chilly wind, and dull skies don’t lure out to run, so I used the time to cross train and strengthen.  I opted for the YMCA instead of my basement because basement workouts require an extra push of motivation to keep going, in my experience.  Something about being inside a fitness center makes me 10x more likely to finish those push ups.

Thursday 
YMCA at 9am:
-60 minute elliptical
-arm circuit: 3 x 15 reps of each: hammer curls, overhead extensions, front raises, curls, tricep kickbacks, lateral raises

Friday
YMCA at 10:30am:
-60 minute elliptical
-30 minutes of random weights

Saturday
YMCA at 8am:
-40-minute pool run (5 min easy, 6 x 2:30 hard (with :30 rest between), 6 x 1:30 hard
-4 mile run (treadmill)

Today
After a lazy morning of coffee, peanut butter banana oatmeal, and Gretchen Rubin’s book Happier at Home, I laced up my shoes and headed out the door for a run.  The sun was shining, which made the freezing temperature much more appealing, and I cranked out a little over 10 miles.  I started at a snail-crawl but sped up with each mile.
My legs and lungs were fine, but my left side bothered me–

  • On Friday morning, I sneezed and felt a sharp pain under the ribcage on my left side.  The pain has stuck around for a few days, and I especially feel it when I rotate my torso or move certain ways.  (I bet it would also hurt with ab exercises, but I wouldn’t know, since I haven’t done any of those lately.)  I have a bad habit of unrealistically diagnosing myself through Google, so I am trying to assure myself that I do not, in fact, have a broken rib.  Anyway, the pain was mild during the run, but it’s been worse since the run.  I am being very careful with any movement and hoping that it feels better soon!

One thought on “Winter Workout Recap

  1. Pingback: 13 from 2013 | the mile report

Leave a Reply

