Sore Muscles and Ear Impressions

And I quote: “…my muscles were ready to be sore.”  I am currently eating my words.

Sunday’s run + strength workout was followed by an indoor run on Monday.  With the bitter cold weather, I opted to move my run to the indoor track at the rec center.  Monday was MLK day (no classes), so I started off my day with a surge of productivity: laundry, homework, reading, reading, and more homework before driving to the rec center at 4pm. My legs were a bit sore from Sunday’s lunges, so I warmed up with a leisurely mile around the indoor track and for some reason felt awesome.  I ran three more at an unexpected tempo pace (8:00, 7:45, 7:28) before cooling down with a 5th mile.  I finished up the hour on the AMT and pushed it kind of hard because I was pumped up from my run.

For the rest of the evening, my legs were dead tired.  I decided to skip my workout the next morning (Tuesday) in anticipation of being sore.  Honestly, “Tuesday Restday” took a little bit of convincing because I don’t like to have two rest days in a row, and Wednesday is always Restday Wednesday.  Nonetheless, I took today off and waddled around on my sore legs.  Tomorrow will either be the third installation of Restday Wednesday, or I’ll try to squeeze in something easy after clinic (90% sure it will be the former).

Here’s a look into my hearing aids class today:IMAG0142

The four of us made our first ear impressions!  The pink blob in the baggie is an ear impression, which is what the clinic sends to a manufacturer if a patient needs custom hearing aids, an earmold, or custom earplugs.  Custom hearing aids sit inside of the ear and are classified further by size: ITE (in-the-ear), ITC (in-the-canal), and CIC (completely-in-the-canal).  BTE (behind-the-ear) hearing aids stay behind the ear, but the sound travels through an earmold located in the ear.

Since all ears are different, ear impressions need to be taken to make the perfect fit for each patient.  To take an ear impression, the audiologist inserts an “oto block” or small piece of foam/cotton on a string deep into the ear canal and then fills the ear canal with a putty via syringe.  It is one of the most invasive procedures done by audiologists, so we were all a little apprehensive to begin.  Thankfully, everything went well.

One thought on “Sore Muscles and Ear Impressions

  1. Pingback: Home for the Weekend | the mile report

Leave a Reply

