Doin work Saturday

Thank you, weekend.  I’m ready for a breather from classes and clinic work, and I need these two solid days to catch up on reading and studying.  We have two quizzes this week, two projects due, and a suffocating amount of reading.  I am heading the library to pluck away the pages (hopefully with more coffee) after I meet Andrea (one of my classmates) to work on our ABR lab.

We learned how to do ABR (Auditory Brainstem Response) testing this week in our Auditory Evoked Potentials (AEP) class, and it’s pretty cool.  You hook your patient up to electrodes and measure brain waves!  Pictures to come, I’m sure.

Last night, Ryan and I went on a double date with Andrea and her husband Alex to Noodles and Co. and a movie–the student center had a free showing of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.  Andrea was the only one of us who had read the book, so she prefaced the plot for Ryan, Alex, and I, and she warned us that it was a little “high-school-drama-y.”  It was, but I really enjoyed it (I think the guys even did too!)

Workout Recap:
I ended up taking two days off this week (Tuesday and Wednesday), so I was back to the grind on Thursday with a run + strength workout on the indoor track:

Run 1 mile
4 x (30 lunges/leg, 20 push ups, 25 bicycle crunches, 20 tri dips, 30 squats, 1 min plank + Run 1 mile)

I was so incredibly sore on Monday and Tuesday after a similar workout on Sunday, but Thursday’s workout didn’t leave me nearly as sore.  I think my body was shocked by Sunday’s lunges (after not doing a lunge in so long), so Thursday’s were okay.

Friday: 6:30am run on the indoor track.  I went a total of 7 miles, keeping an 8:00min pace for the middle miles.  I threw a few sprints in at the end.  Great workout!

Saturday (today): 9:00am run on the indoor track.  I could have run outside, I was totally being a cold-averse baby, but I still got in a good run.  I went 13 miles at an 8:30 average pace.

Look at the Rec center’s cool new toy:
IMAG0144
An adult jungle gym!!

Off to do work.

Leave a comment