ABR round 2

Sunday!  I started my day with a steaming bowl of peanut butter and banana oatmeal in Ryan’s car on the way to church.  (This is how every Sunday starts.  For some reason, I never have time to eat that oatmeal before 8:45.)

I reviewed my AEP notes after church for tomorrow’s quiz and then went out for a run before the weather turned ugly.  It was dreary and gloomy out all day, but the forecast called for late afternoon sleet.  I ran on the trail behind my apartment and went a little over 7.5 miles at an easy pace.  It felt okay.  My legs were a little tired from yesterday, but nothing hurt.  When I got back, I figured out my pace to be a little under 8:30, which was about the same as yesterday’s 13 miles on the indoor track.  It felt a lot harder on the indoor track…

Ryan so generously offered to be my second ABR test subject, so we went to the lab mid-afternoon.  What a guy!
IMAG0152

He has four electrodes attached to him: two on his forehead and one behind each ear.  His job was to relax/sleep in a small, dark, soundproof booth while I monitored his brain wave responses to click sounds.  He did a superb job and fell asleep twice.

After testing, I spent the rest of the afternoon studying in the student center with Starbucks!

I feel like I crossed a decent amount off the school “To-Do” list, and I made time for fun, too.
Weekend highlights:
-Chatting with Ryan, Andrea, & Alex after our dinner and movie date.  We sat at a table in the student center (with free coffee samples from Starbucks) and talked.
-Dinner deal with Ryan on Saturday: We went to the grocery store with the following rules: Each person must pick out 2 veggies, 1 fruit, and 1 surprise item.  We split up.
My items: sweet potatoes, spaghetti squash, mango, ice cream.
Ryan’s items: sweet potatoes, lettuce, mango, ice cream.
WHOA.  I traded in my mango for a cantaloupe, and we picked out bread and shrimp to round out the smorgasbord (definitely googled how to spell that) meal.  It was delicious!

IMAG0145
Here’s the spaghetti squash (with sauce and shrimp), some mango, and the “Aladdin” bread.  Yum!  Please note that Ryan ate a peanut butter and banana sandwich on half of the Aladdin loaf after finishing his meal.  I guess that’s what happens when you’re 6’3″ and super active.

One thought on “ABR round 2

  1. Pingback: ABR on A BABY! | the mile report

Leave a Reply

