Snack Attack

Today was an “endless pit” kind of day.  I had peanut butter and banana oatmeal and a fruit roll-up for breakfast at 8:30am, and a burrito, pear, and apple for lunch at noon.  …Then I had a rice crispy treat.  …Then I had a protein bar.  …Then I had another apple.  …Then I had a handful of cherry tomatoes.  …Then I had cantaloupe and strawberries…Then I had a bowl of ice cream.  …Then it was finally 5:00pm, which I decided was an acceptable dinner time.  Egg medley on toast with a side of carrots & hummus!   …Then I had hot chocolate.  I am not quite sure why my stomach was screaming all day, but stomach gets what stomach wants.

Fitness:
My workout plan this morning was a variation run + strength (a tiny bit of running paired with lunges, push ups, squats, etc) on the indoor track.  After running 1 mile and completing my first strength set, I felt a sharp pain in the groin/inner leg muscle on the left side with lunges or running.  NooOOooo.  I cut out the lunges and running and stuck with push-ups, squats, tri-dips, and ab work for the rest of the hour.  Thanks to my curse of too much motivation, I will probably take a[nother] short break from running or lunges.

I was a little bummed by the setback, but the 50 degree weather (!!!) cheered me right on up.  I spent the day in class: Auditory Evoked Potentials (1 hour), Pediatric Aural Rehab (2 hours), and Medical Audiology (3 hours), with an hour of work in the audiology office squeezed in.  When I got back to my apartment, I planted myself at the kitchen table with my chunky Hearing Aids book (and got up every ten minutes for a snack, as outlined above), which is where I plan on spending the rest of my evening.  Awesome!

Leave a Reply

