20 Miles and More Brain Waves

Happy Sunday to all!  I’m enjoying this morning with coffee, power oats (peanut butter, banana, & pumpkin today), and an interesting article on intervention for children with bilateral cochlear implants for my pediatric aural rehabilitation class.

I’ll start with a little fitness fun.

Thursday: Run/Strength Circuit.  I warmed up with half a mile on the indoor track before completing:
5 x (30 lunges/leg, 25 push ups, 30 bicycle crunches, 20 leg lifts, 25 tri dips, 50 squats, 1 min plank).
I ran 2-3 minutes between each circuit to give my body a rest.  It was a great workout!  The lunges always seem like the hardest part, but my arms were especially feeling the push ups this time.

Friday: 65 minute elliptical, 8 min abs.  I opted for the elliptical instead of doing a tempo run because I didn’t really feel like doing a tempo run.  Lame excuse, but I am saving up my limited ambition for school assignments at this point.  Plus, Saturday is long run day and I wanted to have somewhat fresh legs for it (this is a reminder to myself that I need to revamp my running schedule to not have a tempo and a long run on successive days.  Terrible idea!)

Saturday: 20 mile run!  Let’s start by saying that I was 90% sure I wouldn’t make it this far.  My goal was double digits.  Lately, my mind has been racing with to do lists, and the thought of devoting 3 hours to something unrelated to school made me feel guilty.
Why I ran 20 miles, in a nutshell:
I ventured outside after a productive morning full of aural rehabilitation and planned to run 12 miles (12 miles= enought to consider it a long run, but too short to drain my day).  However, in the back of my head, I thought 20 miles would be a logical mileage step after last week’s 17…plus, I secretely liked the thrill of the mental and physical exhaustion of running 20 miles.

Anyway, 8 miles into my run, an older-male runner passed me from behind.
This runner was legit: Quick pace, flourescent jacket, and a head buff (you know, the combination hat + neckwarmer.  In my mind, if you own a head buff, you are a runner runner.  My dad owns a head buff.  I do not.)
Our conversation:

Runner with buff: How’s your run?
Me: Pretty good.  How’s yours? Training for something?
Him: Good.  I’m training for a 100-miler in June.  Today is a 30 miles.  How far are you going?
Me: 20.

Then I had to.

Overall, the run went well.  I didn’t bring any water or fuel with me, but I ran a series of small loops that brought me back to my car several times for water and snacks.  Nothing hurt, and I felt pretty good throughout the entire run.  I averaged an 8:40-8:50 pace.

In other news, school is crazy!  We have a lab for AEP (Auditory Evoked Potentials) where we have to collect data from 4 ears (two people), and each ear takes about 2 hours.  Eight.  EIGHT hours of trying to coordinate schedules with the rest of the class to use the ABR room, and only after clinic hours.  Lauren and I tested eachother on Friday afternoon, and we were there until midnight.  Here’s a visual:
IMAG0176

The tester measures brain waves on the computer screen, and the subject sits on a reclining chair in the test booth, attached to electrodes and insert earphones.  The subject needs to be as still as possible, with her eyes closed.  Let me tell you, that is painful to do for four straight hours.

We took a break at 8pm to inhale the largest, greasiest slices of pizza that have ever met my face.  Neither of had been back to our apartment since that morning (I walked to school and she took the bus), so we didn’t have a car.  Ryan’s kind soul came to pick us up.  Lauren and I may have gone crazy.
Ryan got to sit in the booth and play statue on Saturday night…for four hours.  That lucky guy.

Spring break WILL COME.

Leave a Reply

