Mercy Heart Half Marathon Recap (and Crazy Legs explained)

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

I didn’t consume any corned beef, cabbage, or green beer, but I did wear green for the race this morning!

My dad and I ran in the Mercy Heart Health Mini this morning—a half marathon and 15k in Cincinnati.  We got up early and left the house by 6am, so we had plenty of time to find parking, stretch, and warm up.  We both wore festive green shirts that we’d gotten from other races…and so did everyone else.  Fluorescent green was a crowd favorite today!

I wasn’t quite sure what to expect from this race.  Though I’ve done a handful of long runs this year, my last race was in November.  I was glad that my dad and I had been referring to this Half as a tempo run instead of a race because I wasn’t nervous at the start.

My first few miles were a little slower than I would have liked, but I got into my groove by mile 4, and my pace hovered around 7:30-7:40.  I had crazy legs (see below) for a few miles, but thankfully my motor control came back around mile 6 or so.

The 15k course is an out-and-back, and the half marathon course is an out-and-back plus an extra loop.  I felt okay but not great during the out-and-back portion and felt pretty terrible during the extra loop (it started with an inclined bridge crossing over into Kentucky. Brutal!)

I finished in 1:42:05 and 4th out of 82 people in my age group!  My dad also had a great run and finished in a faster time than I’ll ever be able to do!  Both of us were pleased with this race tempo run.  Usually we hang out after races to enjoy the post race socialization (and food), but we were so cold that we booked it right on home and even had to take our traditional father-daughter post race pic in our kitchen.
DSCN0484

The award for the top 10% of each age group was a blue(!!) long-sleeved technical shirt and a gift card to a running store.  As soon as I saw that my dad and I both decided to wear the new shirts, I called him over for a twin picture. DSCN0488

Then I took a picture with my mom!  People think that we look alike.DSCN0489

After the picture party and after I packed up for school, we all had lunch and my dad and I had our Tonto tie-breaker.  I would like to proclaim myself as Tonto Champion after an astounding game-changing score of -44 in round 10.

Even though I didn’t do much, spring break went by way too quickly.  I feel refreshed after this relaxing week at home and ready for the home stretch of the school semester.

Crazy Legs:
I’ve mentioned before that sometimes my shins cramp up while running and I need to stretch and/or painfully keep going and hope it goes away.  If I choose the latter, sometimes my body goes into what I call “crazy legs.”  When a bout of “crazy legs” hits, I feel like I lose motor control of my legs and feet.  I can still run, but I feel unsteady, and it’s kind of scary to run when you have minimal control over what your feet do.  According to Compartment Syndrome from Runner’s World, “The pain of compartment syndrome mimics nerve damage. In some cases, nerves crossing through the compartment become injured, so runners with compartment syndrome can also experience numbness, tingling, a pins-and-needles sensation, or other manifestations of nerve injury.”  I think this is Crazy Legs.

6 thoughts on “Mercy Heart Half Marathon Recap (and Crazy Legs explained)

  1. Pingback: Xenia Half Marathon | the mile report

  2. Pingback: Baby Jimmy! | the mile report

  3. Pingback: Prison Escape Route | the mile report

  4. Pingback: Liberty 10k | the mile report

  5. Pingback: Ice cream, speed, and a very long exam | the mile report

  6. Pingback: 13 from 2013 | the mile report

Leave a Reply

