Baby Jimmy!

Something very exciting came in the mail today.

IMAG0227
A baby!!  His name is Jimmy.  Actually, his name is Baby Isao (short for something technical), and you can find the information here on the Intelligent Hearing Systems website.  Jimmy can be programmed to have hearing loss, and we (the students) get to run ABR (auditory brainstem response) and OAE (otoacoustic emission) testing to diagnose his loss.  This little cutie has metal bits all over his head and ears for us to attach electrodes to.  I’m really excited to play with him learn from him.

You can bet I walked through my building and introduced baby Jimmy to every faculty and staff member I could find.  I’m still trying to figure out why I got weird looks from undergrads as I cradled him through the hallway…

Fitness:

Monday: Lower Body circuit:
Screen Shot 2013-04-17 at 10.17.51 PM

I started with 5 minutes of incline walking, completed the leg circuit, and then finished with 15 minutes of incline walking.  Incline walking?  This was the first time I had ever “incline walked” as my cardio of choice, and it was serious business!  I set the treadmill to an incline of 13 and a speed of 4, and I couldn’t maintain it for more than a few minutes without holding on to the arm rails.  I compromised by holding on for 30 seconds and letting go for 2 minutes.  Whew.

Tuesday: 65 min AMT, abs
There was nothing exciting about this workout.  It was pouring outside.

Wednesday: 8 mile run.  Contrary to tradition, today was not Restday Wednesday.  I didn’t have clinic because my supervisor is out all week, so my entire afternoon was gloriously free.  I worked on a paper and went for a run with this new-found time.
The run had a bit of a rocky start (shin pressure and a bad case of crazy legs for the first 3 miles), but I felt a little better after I stopped and stretched.  I ran into RYAN on his way home from school and walked with him.  He was looking fancy in a suit, and I was looking nasty in my sweat, so we were an odd pair walking down the street.

Leave a Reply

