Tempo Ladder Run

Today was rather low-key.

When I’m on a school break/vacation, my criteria for a productive day only needs to include at least 2 of the following:

  • a workout
  • leaving the house (getting the mail does not count)
  • cleaning my bathroom
  • using the oven

With these rules, today was productive!

I left the house not once, but twice: to Target and to Chipotle.

And I had a fantastic workout.  A new fantastic workout.
tempo ladder run
After a 10 minute warm up, I went up and down the ladder and then up one more time; it took about an hour.

My ideal running plan would include one speedwork session (like track repeats) and one actual tempo run (like a nonstop fast few miles) per week.
Realistically, I’m not going to do either of those without a running group or running friends for motivation, so sneaking in fast running is the way to go.

I spent the rest of the day reading Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers, per recommendation of Alyssa, one of my college roommates/best friends.  Alyssa and I have pretty similar tastes (in terms of books, lifestyle, and career interests; not in terms of our feelings toward strenuous exercise or cute shoes), so I added this book to my mile-long book list as soon as she told me it was her favorite book.

I finally bought it a few weeks ago and started it a few days ago; I got completely sucked in and spent the better part of the past few days reading.

RL 20th
(source)

One line synopsis: It’s a Christian fiction about a once prostitute who learns how to love and how to be loved.  Great read!

3 thoughts on “Tempo Ladder Run

  1. Pingback: Weekend in Michigan | the mile report

  2. Pingback: Summer School! | the mile report

  3. Pingback: done done done | the mile report

Leave a Reply

