Group Running

I ran with the new group this morning, and I’m so glad that I did!

It’s kind of scary to join an already established group of fast runners, and I was second-guessing the decision to go (especially when my alarm went off at 5am).  Six of us met in the parking lot for a 10 mile run, and they was so welcoming!  Most of them are training for September marathons with goal times faster than snot, so I was just hoping to keep up for 10 miles.

Surprisingly, the run flew by!  We averaged an 8:12 pace for 10 miles, and it felt very comfortable.  Yay!  It was a fun group of people.

Today concludes the first week of “grad school summer”; Summer classes, my summer work schedule, and summer clinic all started this week.  After a semi-relaxing May, I felt like I got hit by a truck and nibbled on by small animals by the end of this week.

On a more pleasant note, here are some photos from this week:

IMAG0324 
One of our classes this semester is counseling.  Our tiny audiology class of 4 is combined with the giant speech pathology class, and we sit in a circle around the perimeter of the room (me, Lauren, Andrea, and Bre sit in our corner) and talk about our feelings for 2 hours twice a week.  We needed pop.

IMAG0326
Ryan and I had a dinner and dessert date on Thursday to Potbelly and Red Mango.

DSCN0769
Chef Ryan made a winning triple-decker with peanut butter, banana, Nutella, and chocolate pieces!

IMAG0327
Check out this sweet set of wheels we passed on the road!

Fitness:

Thursday: 45 minute run (a little over 5 miles)

Friday: 60 minute circuit outside–a combination of hill running, push ups, lunges, tri dips, and sumo squat side crunches (most awkward move ever)

Saturday: 10 mile group run (1:22) + 2 cool down miles on my own, abs

One thought on “Group Running

  1. Pingback: Weekend Highlights | the mile report

Leave a Reply

