A CRUNCHY jar + speed

You know what’s awesome? Waking up in the middle of the night and realizing you have a few more hours to sleep.
You know what’s not awesome? Waking up in the middle of the night and realizing that it’s actually morning.

I set my alarm for 5:00am to run before school, and I woke up at 4:45am in a very sleepy state.  Instead of spending the next 15 minutes in dread, I got up and running with my current favorite speedy workout: 30-20-10 from Runner’s World.

I eased myself into the workout with a mile and a half warm up before hitting the 30second easy + 20second tempo + 10second sprint work, and I’m not sure what woke me up: running or the sweat burning my eyeballs.  It was about 1000% humidity.  The only bad part about running so early is that it’s too dark to see my watch, so I had to continually press the “indiglo” button to light up the time so I would know when to switch from easy to tempo to speed.  And just kidding, that’s not the only bad part–the early part is pretty rough.

This run felt hard, which I think is partly due to the temperature and humidity; my lungs and heart were working extra hard.  But my legs felt good!  Yesterday was kind of a rest day and kind of not, so my legs had plenty of energy.  I went to a body sculpt class with my friend Krista at 6:30pm, and it was a 50 minute class that targeted the whole body using a step, bar, and free weights.  I didn’t push myself very hard and I’m not sore today, but that’s okay; I probably could have used an easy day and it was fun to see Krista.

Also, this happened yesterday.  Look at the surprise in my book bag!
IMAG0392
Andrea is the best!  She brought me an almost empty jar of crunchy pb.

Tomorrow night Ryan and I are headed to Ohio for a weekend of [cabin] camping with my family and extended family!  The extravaganza officially started today, and I’m super pumped to hang out with my aunts, uncles, cousins, grandma, and whoever else is there!

—–
You wake up 15 minutes before your alarm goes off.  Do you go back to sleep or get up?
What is the must crucial part of a s’more?
Creamy or crunchy peanut butter?

Leave a Reply

