Friend Weekend at the Beach

This weekend I got to see some of my best friends from my undergrad in Michigan.  YAY FRIENDS!

We spent Saturday afternoon at the beach in Holland, Michigan, which is one of the nicest beaches I have ever been to…it was seriously so clean.  I am usually leery and grossed out by open water–who knows what lurks around in there–but I went in, and the lake was un–icky!  No seaweed wrapped itself around my toes, and no fish touched me, so it was all good.  After getting adequately sunburnt, we got ice cream and headed back to Danielle & Sam’s for the night.

DSCN1070
Half of us with our post-beach ice cream.

We ordered pizza and played games.  We are game players.  Competitive, competitive game players, and our specialities are games with interaction, logic, and sneakiness.  Like Mafia.  And Fishbowl. In undergrad, we played a game called Fishbowl almost weekly.  Fishbowl is a combination of catch phrase, password, & charades, and the players make up the words to use in the game, so you can use inside jokes or obscure things that everyone knows.  We played Fishbowl twice (my team won both rounds, but who is counting?) and Mafia a bunch of times.

We also talked and talked and talked because we hadn’t seen each other in almost a year and had 12 months of life to catch up on.  I stayed up later that I have stayed up in a long time, and I ate more chex mix than I care to admit.  Such a fun weekend!

Now let’s catch up on running.

Friday– Run/strength circuit— 4 miles with 3 x (4 x 10 walking lunges/leg + 15 squats); and a super lame ab routine
Saturday– 10 miles with the group.  It was very humid out, so I wore my hydration belt for the first time in over a year, I think.  I don’t like to wear it because it feels heavy & sloshy, and the water spills on me, but I got used to it pretty quickly.  Plus, I’m not sure if I would have survived that run with no water.  There were 3 of us, and we averaged an 8:20ish pace for the hilly course.
Sunday– Rest Day.  I drove back from Michigan

Leave a Reply

