Room and week of workouts

After yesterday’s 12-miler and a morning of triathlon excitement in the sun, I was done moving for the day.  I spent my hours on the couch with an excellent book that I happened to finish: Room by Emma Donoghue.

51B1j6xvQ2L._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_
(source)

Here’s the synopsis from the back of the book, copied from Amazon:

To five-year-old-Jack, Room is the world. . . . It’s where he was born, it’s where he and his Ma eat and sleep and play and learn. At night, his Ma shuts him safely in the wardrobe, where he is meant to be asleep when Old Nick visits.
Room is home to Jack, but to Ma it’s the prison where she has been held for seven years. Through her fierce love for her son, she has created a life for him in this eleven-by-eleven-foot space. But with Jack’s curiosity building alongside her own desperation, she knows that Room cannot contain either much longer.
Room is a tale at once shocking, riveting, exhilarating–a story of unconquerable love in harrowing circumstances, and of the diamond-hard bond between a mother and her child.

Creepy, right?  Are you hooked?  What I liked most about this book is that it was written from the perspective of a 5-year old who thought Room was the whole world…it’s really cool from a cognitive psychology perspective.

Now I need to find a new book to read!  Suggestions are welcome and encouraged.

This morning my mom and I hit up Target, TJ Maxx, and Bed, Bath, & Beyond (bed..bath..and BEYOND! as Buzz Lightyear would probably say) to apartment shop.  Basically I am building a kitchen from ground almost-zero and needed to get the necessities.  I already had pots/pans, a little bit of bakeware, and a crock pot, but now I also have silverware, a coffee pot, a spatula, a whisk, a large spoon, and mixing bowls.  I am so ready for a dinner party.

Something about shopping for kitchen items makes me sleepy, hungry, and done shopping, but we found 2 cute pillows that perked me up a little.

DSCN1137

I usually hit the wall after shopping for 2 hours, but then I eat some fruit snacks or something and feel better.  Maybe next time I will wear my hydration belt and bring salt tablets.

The new purchases (specifically the cute pillows) have summoned my inner Martha, and I am currently Pinterest-ing decorating ideas while lunch digests.  Then I will run..and now I have to because it’s written down.

Fitness:

Potential workout plan for this free week at home, super subject to change:

Mon: 4mi easy + bodyweight strength circuit
Tues: possibly a short run in the morning; pm speedwork & predicted mile with a local running group
Wed: 3mi + bodyweight strength or just 6mi easy
Thurs: 7mi tempo (5mi @ 7:30-7:50 pace)
Fri: weights
Sat: long run (10-14 mi)
Sun:  4mi easy + bodyweight strength

—–
Last best book you read?
Most-used kitchen item? (not including silverware/plates/bowls/cups)

Leave a Reply

