1km repeats, a pretty song, and a dog

Another Monday morning enjoyed (er, spent) at the track.

IMAG0444
Not the best picture quality, but I thought my sweaty fingers would kill my phone if I held it much longer.

Today: 2 mile warm up, 6 x 100m sprints, 5 x 1km, 2 miles

This was the first time I had ever run 1km repeats (sidenote to my AuD friends–I instinctively wrote kHz instead of km).  The plan I’m following has me slowly build up the speed interval distance–last week was 800’s and today was 1km–and the distance continues to increase to 2 miles over a few weeks.

My legs were a little sluggish and sore when I started (probably from yesterday’s double day, especially since I hadn’t done lunges/squats or pool ran in a long time), but I was able to get through all 5 repeats, so I’ll call that success!  Just like last week though, my splits got slower each time: 4:09, 4:13, 4:15, 4:19, & 4:17.

One of my friends introduced me a youtube video of two sisters singing, and I have been listening to this song on repeat over and over for the past two weeks.  It’s Lennon and Maisy’s cover of “Ho Hey” (originally The Lumineers).  It’s so pretty, and their harmony is incredible.

Another recommendation: The 50 Most Perfectly Timed Photos Ever.  It’s awesome.

And one last picture:
Screen Shot 2013-08-19 at 7.50.33 PM
I think Tucker and his crazy eyes are saying “PLAY WITH MEEEE!!”

—–
Dog lover or cat person? Or neither?
Would you rather be a talented singer or dancer?

Leave a Reply

