Puzzles, friends, and a really good cake

Greetings from Michigan!  I arrived at CMU late last night to visit Amanda & Alyssa, and we’ve had a fabulous time catching up, sharing stories about grad school life (they’re both getting their masters in speech-language pathology), and laughing about the time we almost ended our friendship (aka Beaver Island).

DSCN1244
Amanda, Alyssa, and me.  Photocredit to a tree branch.

Last night they introduced me to the show Once Upon a Time on ABC, a mixture of fairy tales and real life, and maybe my new show to keep up with.  Season 3 starts on Sunday, September 29th, so everyone in my boat has two weeks to catch up on seasons 1 and 2.  We enjoyed the pilot episode on Alyssa’s bed with cheese & honey mustard flavored pretzel pieces.

DSCN1230

We spent the next morning with coffee, breakfast cake (Amanda made this cake and it was SO GOOD), and Pinterest wedding boards.  I have clearly found my people because this is the perfect way to spend a Friday night and Saturday morning/afternoon.  I promise the only reason I am wearing real clothes and not pajamas in the picture below is because I ran earlier and had to shower.

DSCN1231

Now we’re working on a Disney puzzle, listening to Train pandora, and trying to get hungry enough to eat more cake.

DSCN1252

See how Snow White’s face and arms are put together and nothing else is?  That’s because either Alyssa is exceptionally skilled at puzzles, Amanda and I are super struggling, or both.  Currently, Amanda and I are both taking a break to blog & pinterest and Alyssa is puzzling-away.  I think I only put together six pieces.

Now let’s talk about running.  (Bye Laura and Andrea!)

Thursday: 7mi tempo: 8:42, 8:10, 7:24, 7:17, 7:20, 7:13, 8:09.  This run was actually in the afternoon (remember the day I almost ran 15 early in the morning and then didn’t?)  I ran a flat course, but I was surprised that I was able to crank out the faster miles.

Friday: 60 minutes of mixed weights.  This was a spur of the moment decision at 5:00am, so I drove to the rec center and did a full body workout with weights for the first time in a long time.  I forgot how good it feels to make your muscles shake from weights, so I’m going to have to add this back on the schedule.  But I think my biggest accomplishment that day was showering/getting ready for clinic/packing/loading my car for Michigan all in 30 minutes!

Saturday: 8 mile tempo at CMU.  8:38, 7:56, 7:44, 7:34, 7:39, 7:36, 7:29, 7:38.  It was so awesome to be on my old stomping grounds–I tried to combine all of my favorite routes into one.  Such a beautiful morning though it was 37 degrees out.  I only packed shorts & short sleeves, but I think I warmed up by mile 5.

One thought on “Puzzles, friends, and a really good cake

  1. Pingback: 2013 running | the mile report

Leave a Reply

