Pumpkin desserts

This post is all about canned pumpkin and running.

Now that it’s officially fall, I’m on a canned pumpkin kick because it is a festive way to eat more fruit without washing, cutting, and prepping.  Until one minute ago, I thought pumpkin was a vegetable, but the two pumpkin FAQ website I just visited told me that it is a fruit.

I made two pumpkin recipes this weekend:

1. Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cake Mix Cookies.
IMAG0506
These were right up my alley because they have THREE ingredients: spice cake mix, canned pumpkin, chocolate chips, (and frosting is optional) and they are impossible to mess up.  Unless you mix them by hand.  I stirred with a spoon for approximately 300 strokes because I don’t have a mixer, but I still had clumps, so I walked over to Bre’s to say hi to Chunk and borrow her mixer.
P.S. Does anyone else have these plates?

2. Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Granola Bars.IMAG0503
These have more than 3 ingredients, but nothing crazy.  Ryan and I made them last fall and I remember thinking how good they were even if they look like bird seed.  The key is to use dark chocolate chips.

Monday is typically my speed day, so I headed out to do 2 x 2 miles this morning, just like last week.  I opted for the road + Garmin over the track.
As soon as I took my first step, I knew that speedwork was probably not going to happen.  Today was the day: My first mile was over 10 minutes (10:08) and I didn’t want to go any faster.  Fortunately I was able to accelerate to a speedy 9:39 second mile..

After a few short sprints (8min/mile paced sprints), I began my first repeat and actually felt okay but not as fast as I had hoped.  I ditched speedwork and ran a tempo instead, which was a good choice because the tempo felt awesome: (10:08, 9:39), 7:22, 7:28, 7:26, 7:27, 7:12, 8:30.  I took a little breather before my 2nd to last mile.
I’m getting better about being flexible with my workouts.  Thursday is my normal tempo day, so I’ll either do speed or just another tempo.

—–
What do you do when you’re not feeling speedwork?
Easy pumpkin recipes?

One thought on “Pumpkin desserts

  1. Pingback: Sugar sandwiches and GLEE | the mile report

Leave a Reply

