Snowed in

My last post was titled Frigid Friday, but Friday was balmy compared to what’s happening outside now and over the next few days.
Tomorrow afternoon:
Screen Shot 2014-01-05 at 3.18.28 PM
18, feels like -45.  In Indiana.

Here is the redeeming and pretty part:
DSCN1608

What wasn’t pretty was the terrifying drive back to Purdue through the winter storm.  As I drove 30 mph on a highway with no visible lane lines and passed all of the cars and semis stuck in the snow, I thought I’d for sure be next.  Thankfully, I only had to focus on moving forward and following the car in front of me because the car in front was my dad!  He takes care of us very well and volunteered to drive ahead of me, just in case the winter storm was as bad as predicted.  It was.

Now my dad and I are back safely but snowed in at my apartment.  As soon as we made it here, we went right back out in the elements for a quick and dangerous trip to Walmart with Bre for the necessities (in my dad’s cart: frozen pizza, mountain dew, and Doritos) and then back to my apartment to crank the thermostat and bundle up.

My dad didn’t pack anything because he hadn’t planned on staying over, so I let him borrow slippers.  “Karen, these are unisex, right?”
IMAG0639

We watched football (He watched football), looked at the snow, and played Skype Tonto with Ryan.

Screen Shot 2014-01-05 at 4.33.22 PM

Today is most definitely a rest day from workouts, and tomorrow will likely be the same.  Who is ready for a Netflix Marathon?! (me)

—–
What would you do if you were stuck inside all day?

7 thoughts on “Snowed in

  1. I’m surprised you decided to drive back and not wait. What days do you go into Heavilon this week? I’m planning Tuesday and Wednesday.

  2. Pingback: A day in the life, snowday with your dad edition | the mile report

Leave a Reply

