at home workout and a groundhog

Holy moly, it’s almost Friday!  A snow day in the middle of the week on your fullest day of classes really helps the week fly by.

Today was a no run day.  A general rule of thumb is that I don’t run outside when the “feel like” temperature is below 0, so I moved my workout to the living room before dinner.  Some people enjoy working out in their own home, but I do not.  I find it difficult to stay motivated when I’m tri-dipping off the couch and burpee-ing next to the tv.

I pulled the old running motivation trick of “I have to go for 20 minutes, and then I can stop if I want to.”  This mind game works like a charm with running because I get into the running groove and keep going.  Apparently this trick doesn’t work with at-home workouts because I am never going to suddenly remember that I like burpees.  Stop if I want to?  Yes.

I did a shorter version of the workout from when my dad and I were snowed in for two days.  Short and sweet, but better than nothing!

A new word I learned today on Jeopardy: aa.
Alex Trebek described it as: Scrabble players loooove this balsatic lava.
Maybe tomorrow I will learn what balsatic means.  And maybe I’ll use this word next time Ryan and I play Bananagrams.

I didn’t take any pictures today, so here’s a picture of Punxsutawney Phil, who predicted 6 more weeks of winter this year.
 von.punxsutawney.phil.stateofpa.640x360.
(source)

—–
At-home workouts: yes or no?
Jeopardy or Wheel of Fortune?

4 thoughts on “at home workout and a groundhog

  1. I’m like you- so hard to work out at home. I think it would be easier if I had a home gym (a separate room), but like you said it’s not easy to stay motivated next to a comfy couch and TV. I’m going to have to try your 20 min idea though.

  2. I’ve recently gotten into doing workouts at home in our workout room before running, like a warm up. I do your 20 minute idea but with miles, I’m like I’ll do 1-2 and see how I feel, that’s better than nothing. And then I usually end up with more 🙂

Leave a Reply

