12 weeks out

Happy Friday!

I haven’t been around lately in blogworld because I haven’t been around lately in runworld.  Projects, a busy schedule, and surrendering to winter woes took the front seat this week.  I only ran once (a sad morning of mile repeats at 10k tempo pace), lifted weights + quick & hard AMT once, and did one bodyweight circuit.  And that’s my whole week in workouts.  Today I had the scary realization that I am running a marathon in 12 weeks, so things will need to get serious very soon.

Unfortunately, another snowstorm is headed our way this weekend with an expected 6-10 inches.  Not amused, winter, not amused.  I need to get my butt in gear for some treadmill time.

Though the fitness week was a bit lifeless, I did something really exciting in clinic yesterday!  I fit a hearing aid on a 3-month old!  Hearing aid fittings are my favorite kind of appointments, and pediatric ones are extra rewarding.

The baby didn’t look like this, but the hearing aid kind of did:Baby-with-Hearing-Aid
(source)

The second happy thing about this week: Bre, Andrea and I got giant pops for our weekly MATLAB date on Monday!  ..And then Bre and I got a second one the next day when we went back to try again.  Computer programming and signal processing will never come naturally to us.
IMAG0764

I’m meeting the early group tomorrow for a 14-miler, hopefully before the snow comes down!

—–
Weekend plans?
Go-to fountain drink?

6 thoughts on “12 weeks out

  1. That’s so exciting about fitting that baby for a hearing aid, that’s awesome! And no judgement on the refills, it’s hard to say no to just one 🙂 Hope the snow doesn’t hit too hard!

    • patient care is awesome, as I’m sure you can relate! I’m hoping this winter storm was a fluke (not likely), but I’m sure you’ll see photo updates on the snow 😉

  2. This winter is so brutal! I know what you mean about needing to get serious, my half is 12 weeks out and I can run it fine, but I’ve been slacking on pace and weight lifting a bit and if I don’t get serious, there will be nothing approaching a PR.

  3. Your job sounds SO COOL!!! I thought about doing speech pathology for a while, but already graduated without taking a lot of the prereqs.

    My favorite soft drink is diet coke. So healthy 😉

    Good luck running out there!

Leave a Reply

