18 miles and how not to make cauliflower

SPRRRRRING BREAK! Who’s excited?!

I kicked mine off with 18 beautiful miles on Saturday morning.
IMAG0793
We are so close to shorts weather, but not quite there for the early morning runs.  I ran the first 5 miles alone, the next 12 with a friend, and finished off the last mile alone.  I averaged a 9 min pace, and the run felt much better than I thought it would.  I felt strong through the end, and my left hamstring was almost totally fine!  We looped back around to our cars at mile 5 and mile 12 for water and fuel.
IMAG0794
Strawberry Clif Shot bloks have been my fuel of choice lately.

I’m encouraged and excited that my hamstring was okay with this run!  I tried to analyze the week leading up to Saturday’s long run to see if I did anything differently, but I think my inconsistent strength training and aggressive foam rolling must be finally catching up.

After the run, I helped a friend move (okay, I played with her little daughter while the guys loaded heavy furniture), and then Ryan arrived.

We went for a long walk, enjoyed the warm sunshine, built a teeny snowman…
IMAG0795 IMAG0806

…roasted a bunch of veggies, and made a cauliflower creation with Greek yogurt and spices that was quite possibly the grossest feeling and nastiest tasting thing I have ever experienced.

DSCN1644 DSCN1649

For the rest of the weekend, we did a lot of eating and walking.

IMAG0819
Cool bridge we found in a historic neighborhood (who can find Ryan in this picture?).

Fun fact: Ryan and Karen can almost eat 3 dozen cookie bars in 2.5 days.

Spring break is off to a great start!  We’re heading out for a game night with Andrea and Alex soon that will hopefully include frozen yogurt.
—–
Favorite fruit flavor?

10 thoughts on “18 miles and how not to make cauliflower

    • ha umm..it’s a cauliflower slathered in greek yogurt, chili powder, garlic, and some other spices and baked. We found a recipe with great reviews, but trust me, it was gross.

  1. Haha I’ve done several veggie recipes that were a disaster, the worst being an orange-juice braised fennel recipe from a top chef with high ratings and all we could manage was 2 bites. Most disgusting thing I’ve ever eaten.

Leave a Reply

