20 miles and more B&N

It’s Monday!

First off, happy happy birthday to high school BFF, fellow band geek, and my curly-haired twin Stephanie!
DSCN0711
Have a great birthday, Steph!
And that concludes the best part about Monday. ūüėČ

Rewind to Sunday morning:¬†20 miles completed! ¬†20 surprisingly enjoyable miles! ..only in the way that¬†running for 3 hours can be. ¬†I met up with 2 training pals¬†for the odyssey, under one condition: starting after the sun comes up. ¬†We’re used to meeting at 5am and running the majority of the route by headlamp only to finish before 8am and ready to nap by 9am, so we¬†wanted to avoid that.

This time, we convened at the beautiful and bright hour of 8am and set out to cover one giant 20-mile loop.  We voyaged through lesser-used county roads with pretty views, plenty of cornfields, cows, horses, and a cute tunnel.  A refreshing change from residential loops!

IMAG0875
My Garmin found satellites a few minutes into¬†the run, so I stopped when the other Garmins beeped at 20 miles, though mine¬†wasn’t quite there.

I felt reasonably good for the first 10 miles, struggled for the next few, had a second wind after a Gu at mile 15, and then fought through the last mile. ¬†Pain-wise, my achilles felt fine, and my butt/hamstring/nemesis was tight but not¬†necessarily hurting. ¬†We kept an average 8:40 pace, and I’m happy with how the run went!

My hamstrings were sore for the rest of the day, so Ryan and I had a low-key afternoon. ¬†We studied, ate a lot of food, and then went to Barnes & Noble–just like Saturday! ¬†Ha actually, we each got absorbed in a book at B&N the day before, so we wanted to return to finish them. ¬†But first, we played a quick round of Catan, and Master Economics kicked my butt because he is a rockstar at Catan.

IMAG0676
(old pic)

If you enjoy reading young adult literature like me (loud and proud), this was a good read.  I started and finished it sitting in a cushy chair at B&N.
IMAG0880

Have a stellar week!

—–
Have you ever read a book in one day? This was a 2-dayer, but the Hunger Games were one each.

12 thoughts on “20 miles and more B&N

  1. Holy moley congrats on your 20 miler!! When I was in elementary school, I used to get in trouble all the time for staying up way past my bedtime to read a whole book. I read so many books in one night! The Hunger Games each would have been one-dayers, but I was introduced to them during dead week (the week before finals). I seriously had to set limits on how much I was allowed to read each day.

  2. I’ve read a lot of books in one day, I think the last was The Fault in Our Stars and Sarah’s Key. I love to read!

  3. I usually read most books in one day, I’m super famous for it with family and friends, especially on vacation! I finished all 7 I brought with me to Greece last year in the first 6 days and then was very sad. Ever since I started grad school though, all my reading is for school so those weeks where I’m on vacation I go nuts reading every fun book I can get my hands on.

  4. 20 miles! WOW! I feel the same way about Dan Brown’s books! I don’t think I’ve ever managed reading on of his books in a day, but I definitely did in a few. Love those books that you can’t put down.

    xoxo
    Olena

Leave a Reply

