taper week

Today is the first day of the summer semester, so campus is delightfully dead.  Yesterday when Ryan and I went to school for a bit, we were the only ones in the business building, so Ryan took that opportunity to take a rolly bench for a spin across the room.

IMAG0995
IMAG0996
Empty buildings are a nice change.  Excited for an empty rec center!

I’m fortunate that my summer semester is light and flexible right now, so I have plenty of time to relax, sleep, hydrate, eat bread, check the weather, and stretch before I leave on Thursday for the marathon.  I am trying to keep my nerves under control, but I keep having these weird teeny panic attacks whenever anyone asks me what I’m doing this weekend.

I’m trying to distract myself with mindless things like Season 8 of DH (the final season!) and laundry (haven’t done that one yet), but what REALLY helped me feel better was an afternoon coffee date with Erin and Stacy, two good running friends who are going up to Bayshore with me.  They aren’t running the marathon because they’re battling injuries, but they are awesome friends for spending the weekend exploring Traverse City with me and cheering at the race.  We sipped on iced coffee and chatted about running, injuries, running goals, and just life in general.  It was just what I needed to make peace with just doing my best on Saturday and being happy with however it goes.

Here’s my taper plan for this week:
Mon: rest
Tues: 4-5 miles with speed bursts
Wed: easy 3 miles
Thurs: easy 3 miles
Fri: rest
Sat: marathon

—–
Rank these potato chips from favorite to least favorite: regular, barbecue, sour cream & onion, salt & vinegar
Rank these race distances from favorite to least favorite: mile, 5k, 10k, half marathon, marathon

16 thoughts on “taper week

  1. I love campus during summer semester. No traffic. Empty gym!

    Salt and vinegar, regular, barbecue, sour cream & onion. Half marathon, 10K, 5K. Still waiting to do the full marathon.

    Enjoy taper week – if that’s possible?.

  2. Chips- regular, sour cream and onion, BBQ (maybe switch 2 and 3) and then salt and vinegar. But my favorite is sea salt and cracked black pepper, I love me some pepper! Races would be half, 10k, 5k and then n/a for rule since I’ve never done one! Good luck with your race!

  3. Ok I’m crazy and don’t like potato chips so no rankings there, though I like salt and vinegar enough to at least eat a few whereas I won’t touch regular chips so I guess I have a favorite. Races: 10k, half, full, 5k, mile. I’m going to try to learn to love 5ks more though!

    • I’m kind of the same on your chip feelings–I much prefer pretzels, but if I had to have a chip, salt and vinegar are the best option.
      Ugh 5ks are the worst! so hard!

  4. Sounds like an excellent plan! Ahhh I can’t wait to read all about it and I’m so glad we have each other to be insane with this week. I used to love quiet campus when I was in school too. I took a lot of summer classes (studio art…didn’t want to load up on them all in a semester so I spaced stuff out by going to school year round) and always enjoyed the emptiness around there.

    Let’s eat some bread! 🙂

    • year-round school with a lighter load sounds like an excellent plan. studio art?! that’s awesome! I had an art major friend who would spend insane night hours in the studio to get her projects finished

  5. Sounds like you have a solid week planned- I’m excited for you!!
    I’m going to say I like marathon down to mile in that order; I’m definitely built for endurance instead of speed 🙂

Leave a Reply

