Back to Michigan

First of all, a GIANT congratulations to my Dad!  He competed in Ironman 70.3 Kansas on Sunday, kicked major butt, and qualified for the Ironman 70.3 World Championship this fall!!!  He works incredibly hard, and this is so exciting for him!  Yay Dad!

While he was over in Kansas, I was in Michigan …again… this time, to visit my good college friend and long-time roommate, Sarah!DSCN1780

I got up extra early on Friday to run 7 miles with the sunrise, quickly assemble (i.e. haphazardly smash) clothing items into my travel bag, and last-second remember to pack my glasses… and was on the road by 8:30am!  The drive seemed much longer this time than it was with Erin 2 weeks ago, but miraculously I made it without getting lost, and I was so excited to see Sarah!

Friday, Saturday, & Sunday:

We talked and chatted and gossiped and gabbed and drank coffee together…just like old times!Screen Shot 2014-06-08 at 3.37.46 PM

Our eating theme of the weekend was Mexican and berry cobbler food baby.

For dinner on Friday, we made avocado Chicken Enchiladas based on this recipe <–though we swapped out the first 10 ingredients for a can of enchilada sauce because we’re cheap and easy that way.
We made an enchilada two-person assembly line to fill the tortillas with chicken, avocado, and cheese, and put them in a pan with the enchilada sauce…and then we performed enchilada surgery on the soggy tortilla roll-ups to add in corn as an afterthought.

The baked result:DSCN1777

They were super tasty.
Fun fact: It’s impossible to get an appetizing picture of a half-eaten enchilada.

We ate leftovers all weekend (I’m justifying my breakfast enchilada by calling it a breakfast burrito), and we went to Qdoba on Saturday afternoon to continue with the Mexican tradition.

For dessert (and all snack times), we decided on the same cobbler we made last time:IMAG1037

We also explored the downtown area, shopped around in local boutiques, stared in amazement at window washers washing tall building windows with an incredibly long mop, and watched movies.  Miss Movie Savvy Sarah introduced movie-illiterate me to Silver Linings Playbook and Horton Hears a Who, and we saw The Fault in Our Stars in the theater.

I was warned to bring tissues to The Fault in Our Stars, but I thought I would be fine since I’d already read the book, and I’m a movie crier but not a movie sobber.  …wrong! I am now a movie sobber.  Sarah and I participated in a theater-wide collective eye-wipe after the credits finished. (also why we watched Horton Hears a Who later that night…because we deserved it.)

Fitness:

Thurs: 40 min strength + 20 min steady-state AMT
Fri: 7.5 mile run (easy)
Sat: 7 mile run (easy) at Sarah’s–my right knee hurt (??) toward the end of the run, and it hurt to walk on for most of the day
Sun: Rest–knee felt fine

—–
Have you ever done a triathlon?
Last movie you’ve seen in a theater?
Do you consider yourself a movie buff?

23 thoughts on “Back to Michigan

  1. I love Silver Linings Playbook! I need to see The Fault in Our Stars ASAP too! I sobbed when I saw Lone Survivor- so much so my sister looked at me and goes “What is wrong with you??” Also, I think it’s impossible to eat Mexican and stop before growing a food baby, it’s just too delicious! Congrats to your dad!

  2. Last movie I saw in the theaters was XMen whatever number we’re on…5? Days of future past or something like that. I have literally never cried in a movie then I saw Book Thief on the plane and cried sitting there right in the middle of the plane at like 3am on a red eye flight. Ugh.

  3. I am so NOT a movie buff. Haha I used to work for an entertainment magazine and my life was so oversaturated by movies and awards seasons that I kind of started ignoring it after I left that job. I really want to see Godzilla though. 🙂

    It sounds like such a fun weekend with your friend and that food looks delish! I hope your knee feels good today. I’ve had some random knee pain too. WTF.

    • boo knees. Mine is feeling fine now (it KILLED on Saturday afternoon!)..I rolled out my quad and found an enormous knot in my right quad that must have been the issue. Maybe try that?

  4. Those enchiladas look so delish!!!! And what a fun weekend! I am def a movie crier- I probably should not see that movie until I can watch it in the comfort of my own home- with a full box of tissues. haha

  5. I think the last movie I saw in the theater was Planes. Is it pathetically sad that I cried at the previews before the movie started? I wouldn’t last a second at The Fault in Our STars!

  6. Mmmm……….enchiladas! I cried so hard reading that book I’m not sure I should watch that movie in public. I think the last movie I saw in the theater was the second Hobbit movie – I usually go once a year. One of the local theaters here is also a bar so that’s pretty fun.

  7. I’m a few days behind but I just saw that your dad was in Kansas (congrats to him on his 70.3!!!) – I live in KS!!!
    I just finished reading The Fault in our Stars – probably won’t watch the movie at the theater – can’t handle it!!!
    The worst I ever cried in a theater was when I was the movie Pay it Forward (way back in 2000, I think) – it didn’t help that I was pregnant and more emotional than normal. I didn’t think I was going to be able to get up and walk out at the end because I was crying so much.

  8. HOLY CRAP congrats to your dad!! He rocks!

    LOVE your girls weekend! LOL I absolutely hate when you forget to add something to a recipe and have to undo things. I’ve made cookie dough, balled the dough and put it on cookie sheets, and then realized I forgot to add something important, and then had to throw all the dough back into the bowl, mix it, let it chill in the fridge, and then put the dough back on the cookie sheets again. At that point I should have just thrown the dough in one massive pile and just made an enormous cookie. I love to watch movies, but I am definitely not a movie buff!

    • haha the cookies! what did you forget to add? I’ve forgotten to add chocolate chips before and I’ve individually added them to each cookie, but that’d be hard to do with eggs or something..

  9. Holy cow, congratulations to your Dad! Swimming is just so dang hard… so I stick to running haha. I have so much admiration for triathletes!
    How amazing that you got to see your college friend and roomie! I am so excited to see two of my best friends in the whole wide world from college next weekend. Living in all different states it happens ALL too rarely!

  10. Pingback: 2014: Year in Review | the mile report

Leave a Reply

