Weekend recap

Hello, and happy Monday! Or Tuesday.

Ryan was visiting for the weekend, so we packed it with exotic animals (er, llamas), exploring parks, foam rolling, and starting season 3 of Sherlock.

First, the animals:DSCN1815Our church friends got together for a bonfire/cookout on Saturday evening.  Our church friends are humans, but their llamas are pretty cool and super photogenic.

DSCN1812

DSCN1819DSCN1825

Aside from taking pictures with our furry friends, we talked to our people friends, played cornhole (Ryan and I made an epic cornhole comeback after being down by like 17 points), and ate delicious food.  My favorite was the Reese’s ice cream sandwich cake (which I confirmed with 3 pieces), and Ryan rank-ordered the four different kinds of macaroni and cheesy potatoes for us.

When the sun went down a bit and the evening cooled off (relatively speaking), our friend Brian dragged a dried Christmas tree out of his shed and lit it on fire!  This fire was SO TALL.  You can see the outline of the tree below.DSCN1829It started raining soon after the fire went up…but we managed a few drizzly s’mores.

The day before, Ryan and I explored a new-to-us nearby park, Prophetstown State Park.  We checked out the Native American prairie, hiked trails, got bit by mosquitos, and ate gnats (I’m a great camper).  Also learned that “comfort stations” are, in fact, bathrooms—not nice lounge areas as the name may suggest.image_4
Native American prairie

image_2I didn’t run much this weekend, but I tried to on Friday morning.  I made it about 30 minutes before my right knee started hurting again, so I’m back to icing and not running.  Fortunately, I can elliptical/AMT, lift weights, and even do plyo moves just fine and without pain, so that’s what I’ve been doing instead.  And foam rolling.  I might have been a little too enthusiastic with the foam roller on Friday because my quads and IT band and hip flexors were painfully sore for 2 days..

—–
Has anyone dealt with IT band issues?  Or super tight quads?
Do you have any unique pets?
Most fun thing you did over the weekend?

14 thoughts on “Weekend recap

  1. Lol I’m horrible at cornhole! Kyle built 2 sets (one for my family and one for his) so you would think that I would practice and get better…I like how thorough you are with your dessert rankings. That’s very important to me 🙂 I’m not entirely sure what muscle is causing my knee issue so I can’t answer your question. I just know that I wasn’t using the stick roller hard enough on myself so I’m switching to foam rolling.

  2. Aw I love cornhole! We made and decorated a new set of boards a few years ago and broke them in at our engagement party. I’ve never had IT band issues but I definitely roll it out every single day and it’s always tight after a run so I think I’m the type to develop real problems if I ever slack on the rolling.

  3. I’m so sorry about your knee, I hope it feels better soon!

    Haha I don’t know why, but for some reason, I have always found lamas to be the funniest, goofiest animals!
    I agree with Ryan’s ranking, it’s always important to know which types of foods are the best 🙂

    Also, I am a super nerd and the world’s biggest fan of the Sherlock Holmes series (I have this amazing leather bound copy of all of the stores that I have ready literally at least 7 times) I have heard the series is great, what are your thoughts?

    • Haha I think llamas are hilarious too..llamas and pugs are the funniest animals

      I haven’t read any of the Sherlock Holmes series, so I can’t comment on how the show compares to the book series, but I LOVE the tv series. It’s the only show that Ryan and I have both immediately loved

  4. I hate our knees. 😦 I’m still having problems too and trying to not run on it this week much or at all to see if that helps. I hope you feel better quickly.

    I LOVE LLAMAS. Those pics are so fun! It sounds like a lovely weekend despite your rainy s’mores. (Which still sound delicious.)

  5. I had IT band issues when I ran my first (and only, baha) marathon. Foam rolling sorted the issues out, but it sure felt like it took a long time! OMG those animals and that scenery! The pug I watched this weekend was definitely not as interesting, but perhaps weirder 😉

  6. I love the faces that those llamas make!

    Sorry to hear about your knee. I have a crappy right knee. Mine is due to weak glutes/hips so I’ve been doing a ton of strengthening exercises and stretches to work on that. What I’ve learned is that if your knee is hurting it’s probably something else. I would head to the physiotherapist and figure out what’s really going on.

    • Good advice. I’ve had other problems (mainly high hamstring) from weak glutes and hips, so I’m sure that’s part of the problem. A PT gave me hip & glute exercises to do a while back, but I kind of slacked.

Leave a Reply

