Sleepy weekend and Balanced app

So that was a weird weekend.  I’m usually not good at sitting still–I walk around while I study, pause Netflix every few minutes to “get something really quick,” change positions every 5 minutes when I read, and apparently fidget while sitting in class (I’ve been called The Bobblehead?..).  This weekend though, I got hit with a tidal wave of exhaustion…the precise degree of tiredness occurred to me when I contemplated spitting out a half-eaten cookie because chewing the rest simply seemed to hard.

So instead of tackling Mission: Decorate Apartment, I ordered a few pictures from Shutterfly, took like ten naps, and read a whole book.  I’m convinced that I had mild West Nile Virus from one of the countless mosquito bites I got from camping the weekend before, but I am also somewhat dramatic when it comes to illness, so who knows.  According to the internet, slight cases of West Nile get better on their own, but no matter what I had, the important part is that now I am back to normal.

After a meeting on campus first thing this morning, I went to the rec center for a workout, and it felt so good to move and sweat after being stationary for the whole weekend.  I did a “ladder run” on the AMT: 10 min easy, 2 x (1min hard+1 min easy, 2 min hard+1 min easy, …5 min hard+1 min easy), 10 min easy.  Followed by some hip strengthening at home with a resistance band.
IMG_0019

During my time on the couch, I downloaded a new app called Balanced.   Balanced helps you form habits by setting a goal for each activity of x times per day/week/month/year.  You swipe right each time you complete the activity and earn “points” that unlock new features of the app. I chose four goal activities from the list of predetermined topics (though you can write your own if you’re feeling creative): study, read, yoga/stretching, go for a walk.
balanced
The “go for a walk” that happened 10 minutes ago is actually a lie because I accidentally swiped right…you earn the option to undo a swipe by completing tasks (um weird), but I haven’t gotten enough points yet.

It also sends you gentle reminders, which is nice…or not…depending on if you like when your phone tells you what to do.
photo

I mostly downloaded this app for motivation to stretch & strengthen twice a day to fix my hips & IT band so that I can run again, but I’ve also been using it to feel good and accomplished from fun reading.

—–
Do you use any productivity apps?
Can you sit still or are you a fidgeter/pacer?

6 thoughts on “Sleepy weekend and Balanced app

  1. HAHA I am so glad you have recovered from your mild west nile 😉 And that app looks amazing! I am obsessed with anything productivity related so that sounds right up my alley! I esp like the reminders… hilarious that it tells you that you should “think about” doing something soon. haha love it!

  2. I need that app in my life immediately. I’m always so all over the place and could use a little reminding. I’m also borrowing your ladder workout for today. 🙂

    Your weekend sounds glorious. Naps and reading a whole book? My idea of heaven right now!

  3. That’s a neat app!

    You MUST teach me your AMT ways! I just can’t get that machine to work on my own haha

Leave a Reply

