a soggy run and week of workouts

Hello!  Almost weekend…it will be my last weekend before the fall semester starts!  I’m not even upset about summer ending because: 1. Routine starts and 2. Fall.  Reason #2 encompasses some of the best things in life…fall running & racing, sweatshirt weather, scarves, pumpkins, apple prices, bonfires, s’mores, brand new school supplies, campus excitement…

Speaking of campus excitment…they’re baaack.  Erin and I ducked and dodged dozens of new campus-dwellers on our run this morning.  We met at 7:45am, under a dry but ominous sky and dreary forecast, for a tempo/speed ladder:
2 mile warm-up
5 min tempo pace + 4 min easy
4 min half-marathon pace + 3 min easy
3 min 10K pace + 2 min easy
2 min 5k pace + 1 min easy
1 min all-out
1 mile cool down
Total of 7ish miles.  I wore my sports watch instead of my Garmin, so I’m not sure of the distance or pace…I’ve never done an actual pace-specific workout before.

Before we knew it (lie- we counted down), we sprinted the all-out minute, high-fived to celebrate, and panted for a few seconds before beginning the cool down mile.  And then it started POURING.  Hardcore pouring that felt awesome and refreshing…until the rain got into my eyes and under my contacts and I couldn’t see anything.  We sloshed and blindly shuffled (me) a cool-down mile, and that was that.  Great way to start the morning, and now I don’t even need to shower, right??

I missed my run pals!IMG_0658

Our pretty orange shoes:IMG_0657

Here are the highlights of my workouts earlier this week:

Monday: 7 miles, easy pace
Noon and HOT.  I’m still astounded that I finished (more shocked that I started) this run.  The best part was when I passed two boys manning their Grasshopper Stand.  One of them yelled, “MA’M!!…(really??)….DO YOU WANT TO BUY ONE OF OUR GRASSHOPPERS?”  Innovative business idea.  Too bad I didn’t have 50 cents, or I could have purchased a new pet!!

Tuesday: 6 miles (3 tempo)
It was already pretttty thick and muggy outside when I started, so I was dripping before I finished my warm up and melting by the time I finished.  2 miles easy, 3 miles @ 7:36, 7:14, 7:23 (with a rest between each mile), 1 mile easy.

Wednesday:
Garage circuit: 4 x (run 1/2 mile + body weight strength)

And lastly…Tell me what’s wrong with this picture. I have a good guess on who put the milk away *dad*
IMG_0650

—–
Name 3 things you like about fall.
Do you do pace-specific workouts?

5 thoughts on “a soggy run and week of workouts

  1. I love the cooler weather, playing the leaves with my girls and pumpkin pies 🙂 I’m still trying to figure out my pace-specific workouts..,kinda failing at them! Great week!

  2. Omg it looks like you’ve literally had a perfect week of workouts!
    My favorite running buddy is loving to California and while I am so happy for her I’m going to miss her like crazy! (She’s also an ultra inner and if that doesn’t inspire me to run, nothing will! Haha)

    The start I the holidays, weather, and football have to be my fall favs

Leave a Reply

