Almost through week 1

Oh man, this week.  I’m not even done with the first week of the semester and I can already tell that it will be a crazy fall.  Now that I have a schedule again, I’m back to having a more consistent running routine…which means actually buckling down to run hard again.  Why not deplete my legs and brain of all energy at the same time?

I headed to the track this morning to tackle some 800’s with the rising sun.IMG_07502 miles easy, 6 x 800m, 1.5 miles easy

I tried to run these at 5k pace, but since I have no idea what my 5k pace is right now, I just went with a moderately-hard effort and clocked in each repeat at 3:30-3:37.  That’s a good 15-20 seconds slower than last year, but whatever; I was totally impressed with myself for even going to the track in the first place.  As much as I dread speed work, it’s never actually that bad, and you feel extra productive afterward.  Running fast and breathing hard is the best way to start the day.

And the best way to continue that day is to commute an hour for a 3-hour class!  Ha, not really, but at least Andrea, Lauren, Bre, and I get to share this experience together every Thursday.  During this semester, I’m in clinic/seeing patients for about half of the time (I’m working with our little friends under 3!) and sitting in class for the other half…and driving all over the place.

Driving, driving, and more driving.  I had a meeting in Indianapolis on Monday, and due to my nonexistent sense of direction and anxiety over being late for important things, I left embarrassingly early and got there with an hour and a half to spare.  So I explored, ate lunch by the Soldiers and Sailors Monument,
IMG_0736

and ran into this guy.
IMG_0735

Fun life news: Ryan moved closer, so we have upgraded from being 3 hours apart to only being 1 hour apart!  Basically neighbors and barely long-distance!  And more fun news: As I mentioned, I’ll be traveling weekly for a clinic rotation, so I’ll get to see him ALL THE TIME!

We celebrated with frozen yogurt at a new-to-us froyo bar, Yogulatte.  I’m making it my mission to try every frozen yogurt shop in the nation.  Who’s with me?
IMG_0744

This is also the first installation of #Karenandryanexploreindy.  Joint mission to try a new food place every week.

IMG_0747
Fruity for Ryan, chocolatey for me!  Angel food cake flavored, vanilla flavored, and peanut butter flavored froyo with Kit Kats, chocolate chips, and sprinkles.

We also popped into The Fresh Market, where I saw my six favorite words, all grouped together.  Heaven?
IMG_0742

And that’s that.  Almost Friday! –Four hours of classes plus hopefully a jump start on reading articles for me!  Have a good weekend!

Workouts:
Sunday: 2 miles + strength circuit (1 hour total)
Monday: 6 miles (3 @ 7:30-7:40 with a break in between)
Tuesday: Rest
Wednesday: 2 miles + strength circuit (1 hour total)

—–
Do you/would you like to live in a big city or small town?
When’s the last time you hit the track?

 

11 thoughts on “Almost through week 1

  1. I’m excited that you and Ryan get to see each other more often!!! The froyo looks amazing too 🙂

    If I had to pick between big city and small town, then id pick the city. BUT, my heart will always be in the burbs HA

  2. Lookit you hitting the track! It’s been a while since I’ve been on a track. And since lately I’m Queen of the Hill Repeat, I should probably drag myself there. And. I’m seriously craving FroYo. Hooray for a way-less-long-distance relationship! You’re neighbors!!!! 🙂

  3. So exciting that you & Ryan live closer now! And yes, I will join you on the ‘try all the froyo’ attempt. YUM. I think ideally I’d choose small city BUT since that wasn’t one of your options (RUDE) I will go with big city. I honestly hate driving so begin able to walk to stuff is very important to me! Also I haven’t been to a track in an embarrassingly long time — so long that I honestly have no idea when it was last. Whoops!

  4. Yeyy for Ryan moving closer, 1 hour sounds MUCH more manageable than 3!

    Kudos to you for heading to the track, I quite literally NEVER make it there!… whoops 🙂

  5. Pingback: 12 miles and Labor Day fun | the mile report

  6. Pingback: speedwork, froyo, and #exploringindy | the mile report

Leave a Reply

