knee news, a cappella, and Ingrid Michaelson

Hello blogworld!

It’s been a minute.  I haven’t been running and I started watching a new series on Netflix…so there went blogging about running.

So I’ll throw in a running/injury/knee update and then talk about fun things.

Last we chatted, I was about to get an MRI to try to figure out why my knee has been hurting for several months and why it had been in mild to excruciating pain for like two weeks while walking.  Long story short, I’m still not really sure, but I feel a little less helpless than I did a few weeks ago, ha.

So the MRI showed that nothing was torn (yay!), but there was an inflamed bursa in my knee, and the ortho recommended aggressive IT-band massage and a cortisone shot if I was interested (not now).  We still weren’t sure what was causing the pain in the first place, so I made an appointment with my home PT on Saturday morning and went home for the weekend.  From the PT appointment, he found that the right side of my pelvis had rotated again (like we discovered last July) and all of the hip strengthening I’ve been doing has probably been stabilizing my pelvis in the rotated position.  He worked it back into place with a creepy pop feeling and is giving me some exercises to do to help keep it there; hopefully that is the main pain contributor because my IT band wasn’t even tight.  My knee felt awesome for about two days, but now it feels like things are off again.  The good news is that I feel like I’m headed in the right direction, and now I get to Google “sacroiliac (SI) joint” instead of “illiotibial band (IT band)” because I’m pretty sure I’ve exhausted the internet of IT-band resources.

But since I was home, it was nice to see my family!  My brother Greg is in a college a cappella group, and his group combined with two other all-male groups from a different school for a concert on Saturday night.  They all did a great job!

IMG_1398
Greg is the one in the front.  Soloing!

A cappella is probably my favorite music to listen to live.  …that and Ingrid Michaelson, who I saw on Thursday!  Ahh!

I’m a big Ingrid fangirl…this is the third time I’ve seen her live, and she is FANTASTIC in concert.  (Fun fact: last time I saw her was the day after I ran the Grand Rapids marathon, and the venue was standing only.  Rough night.)

IMG_1366
On Thursday, the concert was at a cute little theatre near the IU campus in Bloomington, and it was the kind of place where all of the seats were good because the theatre was so small.  I went with Ryan and three girls from church, and we were just a few rows back.  It was awesome!

20141120_205944 20141120_220854Any Ingrid fans out there?  She is my favorite.

He’s pretty cool too…IMG_1373

So that’s what’s been going on!  Thanksgiving break started as soon as I finished clinic today, so I’m going to tackle (start and then tackle) a final project for one of my classes and then head to Ryan’s for Thanksgiving!

—–
What are your Thanksgiving plans?
What is the best concert you’ve been to?  Or who would you love to see??

4 thoughts on “knee news, a cappella, and Ingrid Michaelson

  1. Glad that you have a kinda diagnosis. Anatomy is so weird……I’ve never heard of Ingrid Michaelson before – I’ll have to check her out. Last year we went to see Pearl Jam – I was never a huge fan (my husband loves them) but they were amazing. And did not want to stop playing – they had to be dragged off the stage once the lights went up.

  2. i’m also a big a capella fan :). so sorry to hear about your knee — that must be frustrating! i hateeeeee being injured. hang in there. i’ve always wanted to see keane in concert! but they’re always in the UK or in drug rehab so never seem to make it over the the states.

  3. Glad you don’t feel so helpless, that’s the worst with injuries! I’m a sometimes Ingrid fan..meaning I only know a few songs but love the ones I do! Also, I’m a huge a cappella fan 🙂

  4. Pingback: 2014: Year in Review | the mile report

Leave a Reply

