It’s 2015! goals, reading list, and all that good stuff

I really love making new years resolutions.  January 1 is like opening up a brand new notebook and using my very best handwriting, all while knowing that it’ll sloppy itself out soon, and I’ll probably mess up on the next page.  That’s the story of resolutions involving diet coke and anything without a sticker chart, so while they’re really exciting to plan out, less-strict “goals” work better for me.

Number one running goal is to get over this hip/knee injury, build my mileage back up, and stay as injury-free as possible (maybe with this book that Greg got me for Christmas!)

Secondary running goal is to fit in a few races.  I’m not feeling a full marathon this year, but I would love to PR in the half!  I’d also like to run more 5k races…5ks are scary to me

My dad and I started out the new year with a bike and a run.  50 minutes on bike trainers in the basement followed by 4 easy miles.  I’m trying to focus on my form (“tucking my tail” & engaging my glutes) in combination with my PT exercises (a lot of glute and core strength) to get over this injury.
DSCN1987

Other goal = Read more.  Laura and I compiled a 2015 reading “category” list based on this idea.  Here’s the list we came up with.  Join us, if you’d like!  I’m so excited about it that I read two books in the last 4 days (Me Before You by Jojo Moyes and The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty).

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 12.12.21 PM

Laura and I brainstormed the list during our sister date on Saturday.  We saw Into the Woods, got pizza, browsed Barnes & Noble, and hung out at Laura’s place with coffee.  I told Laura that another one of my new years goals is to spend less money on frivolous things.  Then I noticed that we were standing by a table of 2015 planners that were 50% off at Barnes & Noble, and we convinced each other how important and nonfrivolous these purchases would be.  So we bought them!  Here’s the best self-timer picture we managed with our new planners.
IMG_1542

Other goal = Spend more time outside.  Um, bad time of year to set this goal, but I guess this means trying to run outside all winter and maybe going on a walk if it’s not too miserable out.

Other goal = Be as kind, caring, helpful, thankful, and positive as I can be.  Only one semester of classes left, and then a one-year clinical rotation, so I can almost see the light at the end of the tunnel.

Other goal = I am kind of bored with this blog since I haven’t been running and have nothing to talk about, so I have to figure out what to do about that.  I could post about the bike workouts I’ve been doing in my basement…so there’s one sentence.  Post ideas?

—–
2015 goals?
Do you have any snow yet?

17 thoughts on “It’s 2015! goals, reading list, and all that good stuff

  1. Those are some great goals – wish I was more of a reader 🙂 We JUST got some snow followed by some freezing rain and COLD temps! Messy driving out there! My BIG 2015 goal is to run my first full marathon! I still can’t believe I am writing that or what I’m getting myself into. Any tips would be great!
    Blog post ideas – write about your bike workouts – the books you are reading and the steps you are making towards being injury free!

    • yuck, stay safe on those roads
      I am so excited for you to run your first marathon! you’ll be ready. the distance seems dainting, but trust the training. 🙂 anything specific you want tips on?
      and thanks for the post ideas!

  2. Ahhh such cute pictures!! I love the picture of you and your dad!! So adorable!! Way to rock 2015!! Sounds like a great start to the new year!! Amazing!! Good luck with all of your training and your races!! You’re going to have an amazing year!! XOXO

  3. Karen – you inspire me. 🙂 Also, your dad’s running jacket is so retro, I love it! My goal for this week will be to create 2015 goals…even though I’m a week behind the beginning of 2015… :/ I think we got our first official snow fall (that has stayed longer than a day) in Ann Arbor yesterday since winter started. I vote for writing about the books you read & any training you are doing & all the fun things you seem to squeeze into your busy schedule. 🙂 MISS YOU.

  4. I’d just like to pause a moment to commend you for your opening analogy regarding a notebook and handwriting…. I am not a big resolutions person but this analogy alone makes me want to be haha.

    That being said, I have been thinking that for once, making a few resolutions might not be a bad idea.

    Do you have a Goodreads? It’s basically my favorite thing ever! (Nerd alert!)

    Good luck rehabbing your injury!!!

      • Oh my goodness! I pretty much live and die by it ha ha. It’s really the only way I can keep track of what I have read and what I want to read!

  5. No snow in Charlotte and I’d be fine keeping it that way, not the biggest fan of the cold. I would love to read more books but today was my first day back in school so I’m not sure how much extra time I’ll have!

  6. hahaha I love the “less spending on frivolous things” resolution… but I totes would have taken advantage of those 50% off planners. haha. I like your book resolutions, too! I’m on the fence whether I’d actually like to attempt one of those challenges. I really enjoy reading books that I know I like, so I never want to branch out (what if I hate it? will I waste time reading a dumb book when I could just read something I know I’ll like? these are the things I stress about at the library)

    • haha I knew you’d like that goal!!
      i think you should do the reading challenge with us! whenever I read a book that I don’t like, I tell myself that “reading, of any kind, is good for your brain,” so it wasn’t a waste of time. ha

  7. Love you and your goals! LOL love the planner photo…I’m not feeling a full marathon either. Mostly cause I promised Kyle that I wouldn’t sign up for one while working full-time + being in grad school. Have you figured out the cause of hip/knee issue?

    • Haha Kyle is one smart guy.
      from what I understand, it was a weak left glute (though the right glute was weak too) that caused all sorts of issues– it was like a domino effect but I had to fix all of the dominoes before I could fix the weak glute. I don’t totally feel out of the water yet, so we’ll see

  8. Pingback: Weekend randoms and fun workouts | the mile report

Leave a Reply

