Running, hot sauce, and a giant potato

Hope you had a nice [3-day??] weekend!  I had Monday off, which was extra special because ALL of my classes this semester are on Mondays.  Woohoo!  Ryan and I still did some work though, so I’m not completely off the hook.

This weekend was a good mix of work, play, and a little bit of running.  Last we chatted, I had just run my first run with no pain in several months, and I am happy to announce that I’ve been running pain-free all week!  The new challenge is to make sure I don’t increase the mileage too quickly.  I went on three 3-4 mile runs throughout the week, biked or rested on the other days, and had a long run of 6 miles on Saturday.  If all goes well, I’m going to try to add one mile to the long run each week and hopefully reach double digits by late February or early March.  My dad and I are registered for a marathon relay at the end of March, so I’m feeling optimistic about running my half.

IMG_1610All of those runs were on either the treadmill or indoor track.  I’m really focusing on my form this time around (I’m a member of the quad-dominant group of runners and I currently have to tell myself “butt butt butt” with every step), so I want to get a little stronger before I venture back outside.

I gave the running legs a break on Sunday and Monday, and Ryan and I did two strength workouts together: a “push” workout on Sunday morning that focused on chest & triceps, and a “pull” workout on Monday morning that focused on back & biceps.  They both had squats, burpees, and some core work sprinkled in.  Ryan designed the push/pull exercises for us because he is the weight training master, and I just did my job of adding planks to every workout and whining about burpees.

Luckily my apartment’s fitness room is almost always empty, so we usually get the place to ourselves and can spread out.  And we can do weird moves like the “dog peeing on fire hydrant one” without feeling weird.  The “push” workout is in the picture below.IMG_1617

So those workouts were good, but this hot sauce may have been more sweat-inducing.  Holy cow.  Ryan and I went to Firehouse Subs after church on Sunday, and they had a shelf of hot sauce ranked from 1 to 10 for spiciness.  We thought it would be “fun” to try a tiny dab of level 10 sauce, and long story short, it was NOT fun.  My eyes watered, my nose ran, my entire body broke out in a sweat, and my tongue.was.on.fire.  I drank 48oz of water right away and never wanted to eat anything ever again.  It took a few minutes for everything to calm down, but it was not an enjoyable experience.IMG_1620

Also…check out the size difference between the large sub and the…normal sized?…sub.  If you’re looking for the best deal, go with the large and split it, unless you’re Ryan and can eat 3 Chipotle meals at one time (linking back to that as many times as I can…so proud!).
IMG_1618

Speaking of large food items, here is the sweet potato that we bought at the grocery store on Sunday, with Kraft mac for size comparison.IMG_1614

Aside from eating, working out, and studying, we met up with some friends on Sunday afternoon/evening for a game night.  We played euchre and Balderdash, and we watched parts of both football games.  I’m not really a football person, but I live in Colts territory, so I was hoping they would make it.  The superbowl is on my birthday this year, and blue is my favorite color.IMG_1621

—–
How spicy can you go?
Would you rather eat a giant sweet potato or a box of Kraft mac?

11 thoughts on “Running, hot sauce, and a giant potato

  1. I hate sweet potatoes, but I would buy that one based on the freakish size alone! Holy moly!
    I LOVE spicy foods too. The spicier the better. There is this one Mexican restaurant near our house and I always order this diablo shrimp. Every time the waiter asks me if I’m sure I want to order it haha.

    That’s so cool that you and your dad are doing a marathon relay! I know you’ll be prepared. That’s going to be so fun. 🙂

  2. Hahahaha the picture of the sub is hilarious!
    I guess you get you money’s worth with the large?!

    Wohoo, that’s so awesome your runs have continued to be pain free! I’d love to read a post sharing some of the exercises your doing to rehab it and prevent it from flaring up again!

  3. Yay for getting back to running pain-free! I was incredibly congested for 3 weeks and am going on my first run since 2014 tonight! I’ll probably stick to 2ish miles. Gotta take it slow!

    I used to LOVE spicy food, but I’m over it now. Maybe my taste buds changed? Jalapeños on nearly EVERYTHING are just not my jam anymore.

  4. bahaha I cannot handle spicy food. I bet the hot sauce that was ranked a 1 would be too spicy for me… I can’t believe how crazy your reaction was to that one, though! dannnnng. I would probably die. Also that sweet potato is INSANE and I love your mac n cheese size comparison 🙂

  5. I think you ordered the child size sub because I swear there’s an intermediary size. Alex loves firehouse subs so much. I got him some of their hot chili sauce for x-mas. 🙂 I’m not sure what number it is, but it is good.

  6. Giant sweet potato all the way!! LOL I HATE doing fire hydrants in front of people. That and those hip thruster thingys where you lie on your back with knees up and lift up at the pelvis (you look like you’re thrusting your hips forward).

Leave a Reply

