Friday! and an oatmeal poll

It’s Friday!

I’m at the library working on a research project and waiting to meet my friend Erin for a lunch date.  We try to get coffee and catch up every two weeks, but Erin sweetly offered to do a birthday lunch this week instead of coffee, so we’re meeting at Potbelly.  Potbelly and Qdoba are my two favorite sit-down-but-still-kind-of-like-fast-food places, and I’m excited for the mediterranean sandwich that I haven’t had in too long.  It’s actually the only thing I’ve ever ordered from Potbelly, but it’s so good that I don’t need anything different.

This morning, I hit the treadmill for 8 miles…my longest run post-injury!  I took it at a nice, easy pace, and my knee felt 100% fine.  For entertainment, I tried to convince myself that “treadmills are fun and awesome!” and when that didn’t work, I turned to an episode of Serial and VH1 Top 20 Coundown (umm again).  I recently discovered that I love working out in my apartment complex’s fitness center because no one is ever there.  That means I can listen watch VH1’s Top 20 Countdown and not feel like a weirdo, and I can aim the fan DIRECTLY toward me.
IMG_1729
8 miles, complete!  8:50ish pace with 0.5-1% incline

I had oatmeal for breakfast, which reminded me that I want to ask what other people put in their oatmeal.  Ryan and I are BIG oat fans, but we eat our oatmeal very differently.  I like to wait for mine to cool and solidify enough for me to do this:photo-14

Then I spread peanut butter across the top and sometimes add crushed Honey Bunches of Oats (seriously, try it) and/or blueberries.  The oat base is so solid that you could probably eat it with a fork.
IMG_1722

Ryan, on the other hand, prefers his oatmeal more watery and adds in anything and everything. Yesterday it was almond butter, banana, Honey Bunches of Oats, blueberries, and ….wait for it….tortilla chips.  Tortilla chips were a new one, but he liked the saltiness of the addition.
IMG_1723

The week in workouts:

Monday: 55 min strength (full body)
Tuesday: 7 miles on the treadmill, easy pace
Wednesday: 5 miles on the treadmill with a little speed thrown in: 1 mile easy, 4 x (0.4 mile @ 7:30 pace + 0.1 mile @ 9:15ish pace), 2 miles easy
Thursday: Rest.
Friday: 8 miles on the treadmill, easy pace
Saturday: TBD but probably a strength & cardio circuit with Ryan.
Sunday: TBD but probably the same as Saturday, but different circuit.

—–
What’s your favorite sit-down-but-still-kind-of-like-fast-food place?
How do you eat oatmeal?

14 thoughts on “Friday! and an oatmeal poll

  1. The oatmeal part really got me. Too funny! The picture of you holding the bowl upside down was the best! I am right in between you and ryan, minus a lot of the things added in. The only thing I add to oatmeal is milk and the occasional fruit. I definitely do not like it ‘runny’ like him and definitely not solid like yours. I prefer a happy medium. 🙂

  2. TORTILLA CHIPS?! what on earth?! I don’t know if I’d be brave enough to add that. I make mine kinda more on the watery side (def not able to be turend upside down haha) and add cinnamon, brown sugar, walnuts, and sometimes chopped up dates! and whenever they’re back in season, blueberries. yummmm.

    also I have the same problem at restaurants– if I try a certain dish and it’s really good, I never want to stray! What if whatever else I order isn’t as good?!!!

  3. Yey happy birthday!

    I put peanut butter, pumpkin, a chopped Apple, cinnamon and stevia in mine, yum!

    For fast casual, I am all about chipotle, which witch, and Panera!

  4. Girl we are twins, I love my oatmeal chewy. I’ll cook it for work, put it in a solo cup (to drive with, duh) and then eat. Same with my overnight oats- I don’t add any liquid in the morning so they’re extra chewy 🙂

    • this comment makes me feel significantly less weird. thanks! 🙂
      oatmeal in a solo cup is genius! I might start doing that. When I pack mine, I put it in a container with a lid, which unfortunately softens the oats back up.

  5. Oatmeal – Muscle milk powder, cinnamon, walnuts, flax seed, chia seed, and sometimes craisins (optional).

    Sitdown Fastfood – Penn Station (obvious), Skyline, and Hot Head.

Leave a Reply

