Workouts 2/7 – 2/13

Hello!  And it’s Friday (again).  The pipe dream of a midweek post will come true some day…

My schedule this semester has me in a different city for half of the week, so the only hobby I carve out time for is running (and Trivia Crack because really, that’s like “hobby snacks”).  Our topics of choice today are cochlear implants or running, so let’s chat running!

With one quick detour to say…HAPPY 21st BIRTHDAY to my little brother! Hi Greg.
greg
[flashback to that time we went to Canada to watch my dad compete in the Ironman 70.3 World Championship!]

The rest of this post is straight up workouts, starting with last Saturday morning because Ryan and I had a killer workout that made me sore until Tuesday!

Sat (2/7): Ryan and I did this 30 minute workout from Patty at Reach Your Peak.  It’s a full body routine with four different 6-7 minute AMRAP sets.  I LOVED this workout because all of the AMRAPs were hard but doable, so there was a perfect balance of hard work and recovery.  Ryan and I did it twice for a 60-minute workout, which may have been a little ambitious because I was sore for days, but I would definitely do it again.  This candid picture of Ryan is how we both felt at the end:
IMG_1733

Sun (2/8): 3 x (run 10 min + 10 min strength).  Ryan and I did the run part on the treadmill, similar to the one we did a few weeks ago.  Fun!
IMG_1741

Mon (2/9): 5.5 mile run (easy pace) + 15 minute arms.  The run was a good way to shake out my legs after the strength workouts over the weekend.  I was on the treadmill in my apartment’s fitness room because it was really early and dark.  The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air was on t.v. sooo that’s what I ended up watching.

Tues (2/10): 6 miles (2 miles @ 7:30 pace).  Evening treadmill run.  I played the tempo miles by ear; I was honestly surprised that I was able to keep a 7:30 pace for two miles with the little amount of fast running I’ve been doing, so I was happy about that.

Wed (2/11): 5.5 miles (easy pace).  Evening run, on a treadmill in Indy after work.  I played around with the incline (0.5-3%) but kept the run pretty easy.

Thurs (2/12): REST

Fri (2/13): TBD.  Possibly a long rung but it depends how I feel.  I think being around little ones with runny noses in clinic has finally caught up with me, and I’m feeling a little runny myself!

—–
Valentine’s Day plans??
Do you know anyone else who has a birthday today? I know about five other people…must have been a popular day to be born!

7 thoughts on “Workouts 2/7 – 2/13

  1. happy birthday to your bro! woooo 21, so exciting! 🙂 we’re going to a brewery for vday and then hitting up qdoba– thank you again for that tip!!! hope you have an awesome weekend!!

  2. That’s funny because I was just thinking I knew a few people with birthdays yesterday. I don’t have any plans right now for Valentine’s Day…maybe run a local road race. I should make that decision up soon since it’s the morning LOL.

    Sounds like a really good week of workouts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

