book dates (weekend recap)

Hello hello!  Monday again, so let’s relive the weekend.  Ryan was up visiting, and we spent the majority of our time reading, eating, and working out…since those are three of our favorite hobbies.

The Reads:

I’m lucky to have found a guy who thinks wandering around a bookstore is a perfectly normal date, so one of our most frequented date locations is Barnes & Noble.  We usually play a game or two of Settlers of Catan in the cafe and then peace out to our respective shelves.

I was in the new fiction section on Friday evening and got sucked into The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown.  It’s about three sisters from an eccentric bookworm/Shakespearean family who move back home and try to figure out how to live together again.  I’m about 3/4 through and, pending the ending, recommend it!
photo 2

I was so completely engrossed in this book that on Saturday, Ryan and I went to the library (our newest date idea. #partyanimals) and I pulled The Weird SIsters off the shelf and made my way to a cushy chair, where I stayed for the next few hours.

I found Ryan in this adorable scene:photo 1

We also went to Sam’s Club for a few things (the most disappointing sample day ever) and wound up poring over the fitness book collection.  I found a good one on yoga (still going strong twice a week!) and Ryan looked at one about lifting heavy things.
photo 1

The eats:
I’ve been craving little tacos ever since I went to Q’doba with Ryan’s family a few weeks ago and then with Sarah the week after, so we made little chicken tacos…and ate them all weekend.  The weird brown mashy tuna-looking blob on the right side is a piece of experimental pineapple banana bread.

photo 2
We wiped out about 20 of those little corn tortillas over the weekend–Did you know that you can top a tortilla with just about anything, any time of the day, and it tastes good?

Also-we figured out our sandwich-for-a-snack team approach: Ryan’s favorite part is the middle, and my favorite part is the crust.  Win-win!photo 3

And finally…we heard that Pizza Hut was having a buffet special, so we worked that into our Sunday afternoon plans (i.e. we planned Sunday afternoon around it) and took it upon ourselves try every kind of pizza between the two of us.

The workouts:
Saturday: 60 min AMT (2 x 20min @ tempo effort)
Sunday: Ryan and I did this circuit from Peanut Butter Fingers:
fast-circuit-workout_thumb1
We slightly adjusted it by running half a mile (outside) in between each circuit (mostly so I could catch my breath) and did 4 rounds.  It.was.hard. And so hot out.  Luckily no one else was in the gym, so we got to pick the TV channel—FYI it’s hard to find something to watch early Sunday mornings–so we ended up with The Middle (good) and Spongebob (…).

—–
Sandwiches: crust or inside?
Pizza: crust or inside?

11 thoughts on “book dates (weekend recap)

  1. Ok, reading, eating, and working out…. yes please!!!!
    Are you on Goodreads? I need to follow you if so! It is RIDICULOUS how much I adore books and bookstores. My dream in life is to have a giant library filled to the ceilings with books! I was bummed when I had to leave the beach early this weekend as my friends headed to a huge used bookstore when I left!

    Haha ok now I’m going to relax in bed and go read 🙂

  2. I LOVE your book dates! I do think that sounds like an idea of a wonderful time. I used to love wandering around Barnes and Noble by myself (and occasionally I will still do such a thing if I have a free lunch break). That looks like some delicious food too! 🙂 I’m glad you had a great weekend and thank you for the book rec!

  3. I am loving the Book Date! We sort of have that but we wind up in the magazine aisle giggling over stupid stuff. I’m in the market for a new read! And that book sounds great! Oh!!! And before I forget, I’ve nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award!! Check out my post!!! And keep on reading, running and blogging, Friend! 🙂

  4. i’ll have to check out that book! it sounds good. i just finished “where’d you go, bernadette?” and found it hilarious and uplifting. i also just read “you before me” and thought it was pretty decent. we should start a running blogger book club 😉

    • I’ve heard of “Where’d you go, Bernadette?” but not the other one–I’ll have to look them both up! I read “Orphan Train” over the weekend, and it was the best book I’ve read it a while–not quite a light-hearted read though.

      I would be SO IN for a running blogger book club

Leave a comment